Instagram 101 – How to Delete your Instagram Account,Take a Short Break or Remove Activity
Instagram is a great application for sharing daily life snaps with family and friends, and we can also see what our family and friends are up to. It is a great source of image discovery around the issues of life that interests us, ranging from celebrities, food, animals, plants, sports, and many more. If Instagram is not your cup of tea or you desire to take a break from it, most of us have tried a few ways like disabling the app from our phones. But if we want to learn how to deactivate or delete an Instagram account, we are going to go through a step by step guide on how to do it. Let us first learn how to deactivate Instagram account.
How to deactivate Instagram account
When we deactivate Instagram accounts, we will be hiding our account from the public eye, but we will still have all our content like our comments, likes, and photos intact. When we decide to reactivate our accounts, the content will be reinstated. So how does one deactivate an Instagram account?
- Visit the official Instagram website and log into the account.
- On the top right corner, click on the username.
- Notice the button named ‘Edit Profile’ next to the username.
- Scroll down and find a link labeled ‘ Temporarily disable my account’ close to the bottom-right corner.
- From the menu that has been provided, select the reason as to why you are disabling your account.
- Click on the box that reads ‘To continue, please re-enter the password’ and enter your password once again in the field.
- Next, click on the ‘Temporarily Disable Account’ button.
- You can choose to suspend your account yo to once a week.
How to permanently delete your account
The decision to delete your Instagram account is an irreversible move. We should avoid proceeding if we are not sure that we need to deactivate our accounts for good. In case hesitation to delete an account is present, we would rather temporarily deactivate our accounts for a few weeks.
Now, if we are confident that we want to delete our accounts, the steps below are a guide.
Download all photos
First of all, we have to download all of our images when we are deleting our Instagram accounts. The reason why we need to do this is that once we delete our accounts, we will not be able to access the content that we uploaded. After downloading all our Instagram photos, we can proceed to delete the account.
Go to the computer and open up a web browser. We can still do this through our smartphone or tablet, but using a desktop makes it easier to navigate. A point to note is that we cannot delete the Instagram account through the Instagram app on our smartphones.
- Firstly, visit the Instagram website.
- Log into your Instagram account with your access details.
- Visit the ‘Delete Your Account’ page on the Instagram website.
- From the pull-down menu, choose the reason as to why you are deleting your account.
- You will be asked to enter your password once more.
- After submitting your password, click on the button labeled ‘ Permanently delete my account’ that is located near the bottom.
Once we have deleted our accounts, have they been removed?
Once we delete our accounts, they are permanently removed, and we cannot recover them. Additionally, once we have deleted our accounts, we can’t sign up with the same email address or username again. All the content that the accounts are associated with is removed and made unavailable for both public and private view.
However, Instagram can have copies of the content on its servers for a long period of time. So, an account that is deleted may not be removed completely. We all hear that the internet lasts forever and that anything that has been uploaded on the internet has a copy backed up on another website. This is the same principle that social media applies, and it is a danger with social media networking.
How to delete Instagram comment
If we look carefully at our Instagram photos, we will find that there is no option on how to delete Instagram comment, but if we want to delete, the option is well hidden. To delete our Instagram comments, follow the steps below:
- Login into your Instagram account
- Locate the photos with the comment you want to remove.
- Tap on the image and tap on the comments button. This is the button that you tap to write a comment.
- Locate the comment you want to remove, and top on it. You will see a trashcan appearing on the upper-right corner of the app.
- The comment will be deleted when you click on the trash can.
This is the process that we can use to delete our comments and the comments of someone else
Contact us here to learn more